How it all Began

Standard

I have been inspired to share my journey of walking with the Lord, being a wife, and recently becoming a mommy, by one of my friends who just started a similar blog herself. I am excited to share my joys and struggles with you in the hopes that I will inspire you and give you encouragement in your journey. I believe that God has called me to be a wife and a mother, and I am honored to answer his calling.

First off, I would like to give a little background information on my journey so far. This is a long post, so feel free to just skim it and read what you are curious about. I will talk about my spiritual journey, meeting my husband, and the pregnancy and birth of our son.

I made the decision, for myself, to walk with the Lord my freshman year of college. I always believed in God and knew that Heaven was for real, but I wasn’t pursuing an active relationship with God. I was baptized and confirmed in the Catholic church, but I was never really interested in what God has to offer. My parents taught me about Jesus and I asked Jesus to come into my heart when I was a little girl. I didn’t actually make a conscious choice to walk with Jesus until after I graduated high school, even though I had plenty of exposure to Him growing up. To be honest, I was not in a very good place when I graduated high school. I was making a lot of poor decisions and had fallen far away from a relationship with God.

One of my friends recognized that I was in a dark place and invited me to attend church with her. I had been to Catholic mass more times than I could count, but I hadn’t been to a service at an Evangelical Free church since I was a young girl. Something at that service jumpstarted my soul. I became more interested in pursuing a relationship with God. I started attending services regularly and joined the worship team.

Shortly after I started going to Woodlands Church, I met my husband Tom. Later, I found out that Tom had recently started attending Woodlands Church with one of his friends. I met Tom at the University of Wisconsin Stevens Point in Baldwin Hall. I had just gotten out of a one year relationship that was not healthy. I didn’t know if I wanted to start a new relationship with anyone, but I wanted to make new friends and really enjoy the college experience.

Tom and I met at a hall wide program in early September. The program was a singing competition. I was entered in the competition and so was Tom. When I walked into the room I noticed Tom immediately; there was just something about him that caught my eye. He was wearing a UWSP baseball cap and sitting next to another guy that I thought was kind of cute who I had spent a little time with. Tom and his friend ended up winning the singing competition by singing a silly Tenacious D song. After the competition I introduced myself to Tom and said that we should hangout sometime.

Tom and I started hanging out, just as friends. We went to dinner at the university dinning hall and spent time playing Guitar Hero and just chatting. I didn’t want to rush into a relationship with Tom because I knew if it was meant to be we would end up together, no matter how long it took.

Tom and I started attending Woodlands Church services together. We both made the decision to get baptized in the spring of 2011. We have been walking with the Lord ever since. I have been on two medical missions trips to Sumpango, Guatemala. These trips opened my eyes up to a whole new world and helped me develop a deeper relationship with God.

Image

In late November, right before Thanksgiving break, Tom and I were watching the movie Tommy Boy (one of Tom’s favorite movies). During the movie he asked me if I wanted to go steady. It was the sweetest thing I had ever been asked. We started officially dating on November 23, 2008, and after three years of dating Tom proposed to me on Thanksgiving November 24, 2011. We got married on July 7, 2012 at Woodlands Church.

Image

After we got married we moved to Eau Claire. I had just been accepted into nursing school at the University of Wisconsin Eau Claire. Tom and I had both recently graduated from the University of Wisconsin Stevens Point. Tom graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in Health Promotion and Wellness, with a nutrition and strength and conditioning minor. I graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in Health Care Administration and Pre-Nursing, with a business minor. I have always had the end goal of becoming a nurse.

I started nursing school in the fall of 2012. After starting nursing school I felt like I was being called to motherhood. Tom and I knew that we wanted to start a family, we just weren’t exactly sure when we wanted to do so. I wanted to finish school (at the time I had 4 semesters left of a 5 semester program), but I also wanted to be a mommy more than anything in the world. So Tom and I prayed about it. We decided that, even though I was in the thick of school, we would start trying to get pregnant. We wanted to leave it up to God. If we were meant to have a baby we knew that we would.

I have a condition that makes it difficult to conceive. The condition is called endometriosis. This condition causes the lining of the uterus (endometrial tissue) to grow excessively and out of control all over the inside of the abdominal cavity. It causes a lot of pain and scarring. The scarring is what can make it difficult to conceive. Because of this condition we weren’t sure how long it would take to get pregnant, or if we would even be able to have children. I have been in treatment since I was sixteen years old. I have had two surgeries to get rid of the endometrial tissue, but it always grows back. I have also been put in a psuedo-menopause to keep the endometriosis from growing and causing more damage.

We knew that having children was completely in God’s control. We started trying to get pregnant in April of 2013, and by May we found out we were expecting! I honestly didn’t believe I was pregnant for quite some time. I don’t think it really sunk in until I had my 20 week ultrasound and I saw the baby’s little heart pumping away. We found out that we were having a boy. I had really wanted a boy, so I was ecstatic. Tom was hoping for a little girl, but he was thrilled that we were having a boy.

Image

At that time, we also found out that our little boy had a condition called single umbilical artery, or a two-vessel cord. This condition means that the umbilical cord only has one artery, instead of two. The umbilical cord is supposed to have three vessels: one vein and two arteries. This condition can be a sign that other developmental issues are present, such as down’s syndrome or autism and it can also be a sign that some of the organs may not have developed properly. The doctor didn’t see any markers on the ultrasound to suggest that any of our little guy’s organs hadn’t developed properly. We were very thankful for that! The doctor believed that, other than having a two-vessel cord, our little guy was perfectly healthy.

Image

With a two-vessel cord it can indicate that something else is wrong, or it can just be a fluke and cause no other issues. The doctor believed that our baby’s cord was just a fluke and that no other issues would come up. Of course I was freaked out! I searched the internet for all and any information I could find about this disorder. That made things a lot worse. I needed to just trust God that everything would be ok. That was very hard for me.

The two-vessel cord did not end up causing any more problems with the pregnancy. The only thing it affected was that I had to have a few extra ultrasounds to monitor the little man’s growth and make sure that he was still thriving. Sometimes a two-vessel cord can cause a baby to stop growing, and an induction would then be necessary. We thankfully did not have that problem, either. God was definitely watching over our little boy and keeping him safe so that he could grow big and strong.

We then decided that it would be a good idea to move back to the Stevens Point area to be closer to family. I really wanted my parents and Tom’s parents to have an active role in our child’s life. I wanted our little boy to grow up knowing his grandparents. This was a very difficult decision for us because I still had three semesters left at UW-Eau Claire and Tom was really enjoying his job as a personal trainer and fitness center staff member at the Eau Claire YMCA. Ultimately we decided that family needed to come first and I would find a way to finish my nursing degree.

These events have brought us to where we are today. We now live in Plover, WI and are raising our little boy, Warren, and learning how to love each other in the best way that we can. We are working hard to keep God at the center of our marriage and creating an environment that fosters spiritual growth for our little boy. We want to raise our children to know God.

Image

3 thoughts on “How it all Began

  1. Mary Glodoski

    Nicely done Alex. I like the simplicity of your site: the black, white and aqua color scheme, the well chosen photos instead of a deluge of pics. It puts the focus on your message.

  2. Lisa Crockett

    On a side note: Alex was raised in. God-loving, Christian home. We have a Catholic background, but we are Christian. Alex and her siblings attended youth group at Woodlands, and often went on retreats thru that church. In addition, their dad prayed with all of them when they were younger to receive Jesus as their personal savior.

  3. Lisa Crockett

    And, both you and Tom have had direct influence on your sisters and their boyfriends – keep leading the charge to Jesus!

Leave a Reply

